PHILADELPHIA CREAM, January 24, 2023 /PRNewswire/ — The Franklin Institute is proud to announce that nine outstanding individuals have received a prestigious Franklin Institute Award for their extraordinary achievements in scientific, engineering and business leadership. Among them is Kenneth Frazierformer CEO of Merck and co-founder and co-president of OneTen, a coalition of leading organizations committed to cultivating economic opportunity for black talent in America. Frazier is the recipient of the 2023 Bower Award for Business Leadershipa recognition that honors American business leaders who personify outstanding qualities and achievements in leadership, the promotion of sound business practices, and adherence to the highest ethical standards.

    The 2023 Bower Award and Excellence in Science Award is awarded this year to an individual who has made significant scientific or technical contributions that have improved the safety, sustainability and resilience of infrastructure. Civil and environmental engineer Deb Niemeier, PE, Ph.D.recognized for her ongoing research into improving critical infrastructure decisions that contribute to a more equitable society, is the 2023 recipient. The award comes with a cash prize of $250,000.

    Each year, the Franklin Institute rewards Benjamin Franklin Medals for transformative advances and global breakthroughs in science and technology, two Bower Rewards– one for extraordinary business leadership, another for scientific achievement – ​​and the new Benjamin Franklin NextGen Awardwhich is awarded to an outstanding researcher at the start of their career.

    Larry DubinskyPresident and CEO of The Franklin Institutesaid: “We are proud to continue the Franklin Institute long-standing legacy of recognizing individuals for their contributions to humanity. These extraordinary advances in such important areas as social equity, sustainability and safety significantly steer the needle in the direction of positive change and lay the foundation for a remarkable future.”

    Whether capturing the fastest chemical reactions or studying the effects of climate change, laying the foundations of today’s computer programs to enable tomorrow’s superfast computing, and elucidating fundamental properties of matter to uncover the genetics that guide our largest organ, their scientific properties Breakthroughs have transformed our understanding of the world. These nine visionaries will be celebrated at a ceremony held on April 27, 2023at the Franklin Institute.

    2023 Franklin Institute Award Winners

    2023 Bower Prize and Excellence in Science Award

    • Deb Niemeier, PE, Ph.D., NAE, University of Maryland, College Park

    For pioneering the advancement and application of knowledge at the intersections of infrastructure, environment, public health, and equity through innovative research on transportation systems and climate-related risks .

    2023 Bower Award for Business Leadership

    • Kenneth C. Frazier, Merck & Co., Inc., retired; General Catalyst

    For his distinguished tenure leading Merck & Co., one of the world’s most innovative healthcare companies, including spearheading groundbreaking developments in immuno-oncology, and for his authoritative voice in social equity and expanded access to affordable quality health care in underserved communities.

    2023 Benjamin Franklin NextGen Award

    • Monika Schleier-Smithdoctorate, Stanford University

    For groundbreaking research elucidating the fundamental properties of matter and energy using ultracold atoms and their interactions with light.

    2023 Benjamin Franklin Medal in chemistry

    • Richard N. FilPhD, Stanford University

    For fundamental studies of the dynamics of chemical reactions, including the development of techniques to observe molecules as they react.

    2023 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer Science and Cognitive Science

    • Barbara H. Liskovdoctorate, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    For his fundamental contributions to computer programming languages ​​and methodology, enabling the implementation of reliable and reusable programs.

    2023 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Earth and Environmental Sciences

    • R Lawrence Edwardsdoctorate, University of Minnesota

    For fundamental advances in high-precision methods for dating geological records of climate change, leading to a more detailed understanding of the Earth’s climate system over the past million years.

    2023 Benjamin Franklin Medal in electrical engineering

    • Nader Enghetadoctorate, University of Pennsylvania

    For transformative innovations in the engineering of new materials that interact with electromagnetic waves in unprecedented ways, with broad applications in superfast computing and communication technologies.

    2023 Benjamin Franklin Medal in life sciences

    • Elaine Fuchsdoctorate, Rockefeller University

    To elucidate the genetics of skin diseases and the mechanisms that guide skin turnover, providing insight into aging, inflammation and cancer.

    2023 Benjamin Franklin Medal in physics

    • Philip Kimdoctorate, Harvard University

    For pioneering discoveries in the new science of materials composed of layers only one atom thick, opening the door to a wide range of new technologies.

    Since 1824, The Franklin Institute of philadelphia cream honored the legacy of benjamin franklin by awarding prizes for outstanding achievement in science and industry. The Franklin Institute Awards program has recognized more than 2,000 of the world’s most pioneering scientists, engineers, inventors, and innovators.

    The Franklin Institute Awards Ceremony will be held on Thursday, April 27, 2023. Bank of America returns in 2023 as presenting sponsor of the awards ceremony and dinner for the 21st consecutive year.


    Recognizing extraordinary achievement in science and technology since the Institute’s founding in 1824, the Franklin Institute Awards remain the oldest comprehensive science and technology awards program in United States. Honoring extraordinary individuals who shape our world through their groundbreaking achievements in science, engineering and business, his legacy virtually traces scientific and technological advances over the past two centuries, from the development of the machine to writing at the dawn of quantum computing. The honor roll of more than 2,000 Franklin Institute Awards winners includes Nikola Tesla, Marie and Pierre Curie, Orville Wright, Thomas Edison, Max Planck, Albert Einstein, Frank Lloyd Wright, stephen hawking, Gordon Moore, Jane Goodall, Elizabeth Blackburn, Steven Squires, Bill Gates, Dean Kamen, Subra Suresh, Cornelia Bargman, Jim Allisonand Frances Arnold. To date, 122 laureates are also Nobel Laureates. For more information, visit


    Located in the heart of philadelphia creamThe Franklin Institute is a recognized leader and innovator in the field of science and technology learning, as well as a dynamic center of activity. As Pennsylvania the most visited museum, it is dedicated to creating a passion for science learning by providing access to hands-on science education. For more information, visit

    SOURCE The Franklin Institute

    Source link

    Leave A Reply