BEMIDJI — The Johnson-Jarvi Snowjourn Award and the first-ever Wanda’s Wish Award were presented at the 42nd annual Buena Vista Snowjourn Awards Jan. 14 at the Buena Vista Ski Area.

    The Johnson-Jarvi Snowjourn Award is given annually to an individual who has demonstrated long-term commitment and support for cross-country skiing in the Bemidji area.

    This year, the award went to David Harrington, who has hosted the annual Black Lake Loppet Ski for Fun event for more than a decade, according to a statement.

    He is also a board member of the Minnesota Finlandia organization and a volunteer ski groomer.

    012523.N.BP.SNOWJOURNAWARDS Johnson-Jarvi.jpg

    Pictured from left: Roger Jarvi, Johnson-Jarvi Award recipient David Harrington, and Bruce Slinkman.


    The new Wanda’s Wish Award, in honor of the late Wanda Arenz, went to 15-year-old Casey Story, the youngest skier in the event’s 12-kilometre race.

    Wanda’s Wish Award is the book “Trail to Gold”, which shares the collective journey of 53 Olympic Nordic skiers from 1972 to 2018.

    “Wanda was a dedicated cross-country skier well into her 70s,” the statement read. “Her wish is that more women continue to participate and enjoy Nordic skiing until the end of their lives.”

    Source link

    Leave A Reply